You are here:

Parish Council


Terrebonne Parish Council Staff

The staff of the Terrebonne Parish Council, as authorized by Section 2-10 of the Home Rule Charter, currently consists of Venita H. Chauvin, Council Clerk, Suzette Thomas, Assistant Council Clerk, Tammy E. Triggs, Senior Minute Clerk, and Keith Hampton, Minute Clerk. These individuals comprise the staff for the Legislative Branch of the Terrebonne Parish Consolidated Government.

The main function of the staff is to aid and assist the Council members. Duties of the individuals include preparation of all agendas of the Council meetings; sending notices to elected officials, the news media and interested parties; writing, indexing and recording minutes of all meetings and causing same to be published in the official journal. Other duties include assisting Council members with drafting correspondence, speeches and resolutions; obtaining information, including those of a financial nature, for Council members on issues being addressed by the governing body; and helping the general public with questions or issues relating to local government and those topics under consideration by the Council.

The Council Staff maintains a central file of all minutes of the Terrebonne Parish Council, the Terrebonne Parish Police Jury and the Houma Board of Aldermen dating back from 1822. The staff also keeps copies of all correspondence pertaining to the local governing authority as well as an up-to-date list of all boards and committees appointed by the Parish Government.

Council Clerk Venita H. Chauvin can be reached by email at

Return To Top